Taking Care Of Grandma

So I’m sitting at Forza (downtown Puyallup) my favorite coffee shop, when this guy approaches me and nearly bursts my personal bubble. He was kinda all in my grill if you know what I mean. Anyway, he looks over towards the cash register and asks if I could open the door for the elderly woman waiting in line, when she’s ready to leave.

Instantly two thoughts cross my mind.

1. “That’s really sweet, of course I can do that.”

2. “Who does this guy think he is? If he wants the door opened for her he can stay up in the front of the store and open it for her instead of sitting down in the back.”

Let me just stop here and say that I think I learn more about life and myself at Forza than any other place.

Well, when the elderly woman is done getting her drink, I go ahead and open the door for her and she appreciatively walks out of the store to go about the rest of her day.

A little while later I’m talking to my friend Bryan who runs the shop and he tells me that he had asked that same guy to open the door for that same woman (affectionately called, “Grandma”) the other day.

“He’s ‘taking care of grandma,'” Bryan said.

Ouch!

Now, I probably would have opened the door for her anyway because as I said I recognized it as a sweet thing to do, and Grandma probably wouldn’t have been able to open it for herself,  but why was I put off by someone asking me to lend a hand?

I really hate moments like that. Moments that point out my flaws and weaknesses. The areas where Satan has infiltrated my heart.

At the same time, I’m also very grateful for them because it allows me the opportunity to change. The opportunity to grow and be shaped into a better person. A more loving person.

Someone who is willing to without a second thought, take care of grandma.

What has humbled you lately?

3 Responses to “Taking Care Of Grandma”

  1. So many things humble me, David. Wow – can’t even list them. Being married to a near perfect man doesn’t help matters any – I’m so flawed and he’s such a saint. It keeps me humble that’s for sure 🙂

  2. This kind of gets me thinking about the concept of personal space. I don’t think you were peeved as much by the request it self (opening a door for a lil’ ol’ lady is the way you and I were raised) as much as the interruption of YOUR life/routine. Particularly by someone whom you don’t know and who hasn’t earned any right to speak into your life in any way shape or form. But where did that requirement from? That we need to know someone before they can impose themselves on us, without us being offended. This habit is out of whack with Christ’s life and His ministry. The broken who sought him for healing didn’t know His true nature at the time (though He knew them). The Samaritan woman didn’t know Jesus before he interrupted her life and asked for a drink. Those who sought healing only knew that He had the agency to effect their lives. The woman at the well knew the Lord was a Jew breaking a cultural taboo. It seems that’s all this guy knew as well. He knew you had the power to effect his and ‘Grandma’s’ life, even if just in a small way. This is a situation we as Christ followers should look for and welcome. Why? Because we know enough about the world to know they have a need, a need for salvation. Our call as Christians is to let the world know who has the power to meet that need and that it is not an imposition on us to make the introduction, nor on our God to save them. Rather, He’s opened the door, they just need to get out of line and go through.

  3. Excellent comment! Just a couple of weeks ago I heard a sermon that pretty much addressed the same idea…how Christ was constantly being “interrputed” by people in need. The point was, that if we are to be Christ to the world, we need to not view these situations as interruptions but rather as opportunities to be Christ to a hurting an broken people. Not always an easy (or from our viewpoint) desirable thing to do. Fortunately, God continues to give us opportunities like this, to get it right!

Leave a Reply

