2009 Goals

Last year I posted goals for 2008 and I was approached the other day and asked if I was planning on posting goals for this year. I don’t know if at the time I was planning on it, but the more I thought about the more I wanted to. I liked the accountability that comes a long with making your goals known, I like the documentation of the goals and I like that people are willing to help you achieve those goals. So, without further adieu, let me introduce you to the 2009 Top Ten Goals (in no particular order).

1. Get my first children’s book published with the brilliant illustrations of Mike Corley

2. Ride at least one cycling ride/race (Tour De Whatcom?)

3. Pay off at least 85% of our remaining student loans.

4. Buy an iphone.

5. Run a 5k and a 10k.

6. Learn guitar (once again making the list).

7. Read at least 24 books (12 ministry related, 6 fiction, 6 nonfiction).

8. Travel to Europe.

9. Speak at a couple venues outside of New Life Church (has be come a little more challenging since the switch out of Children’s Minsitry)

10. Add 10 lbs. to my lean mean preaching machine frame.

11. (Bonus Goal) Start or get involved in a business endeavor part time outside of my regular ministry at New Life (coaching, consulting, who knows).

Nothing too outrageous on there, but I think a great place to start. Let’s see what happens…

What are your goals for 2009?

6 Responses to “2009 Goals”

  1. Awesome goals, David!! I can’t wait to read that book – complete with the great illustrations ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m sure I could recommend some books for you to help you with your reading goal – however, you might not like my selections – picky, picky. I know about the Iphone – and the rest – I’m sure you will do, my friend. What are my goals? They are simple. To hang around awesome people like yourself – to be an encourager to many and to live an authentic life – full of God shining through me.

  2. Any suggestions are welcome. Can never have too many book titles in my dewey decimal system.

  3. Have you read any John Grisham? I love “The Testament” and “The Firm” Love all of Nicholas Sparks novels – and Francine Rivers – “The Atonement Child” and “Redeeming Love” Also Love the book “Prince of Tides” – it’s a very deep, emotion book – but very good. Anne of Green Gables series is a MUST READ and Little Women and Gone with the Wind. Yup you really haven’t lived until you’ve read some of these – and of course if you want to cry – read the book about a boy and his dogs – “Where the Red Fern Grows” It’s a killer. Happy Reading ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Thought of a couple more: “To Kill a Mockingbird” – really great book. Also – “The Deep End of the Ocean” and just got done reading “The Shack” I highly recommend it.

  5. Second goal is very cool. What length ride? 25, 50 or 105?

  6. I would most likely do the 105. Have you done it before?

Leave a Reply

