What Keeps You From Serving

There have been a lot of things over the course of my life that have kept me from filling service roles.

Time.

Lack of Interest.

No one asked me to.

I was unsure if I would be successful.

What is it that keeps you from serving, at church, in the community, PTA, etc?

I think we all avoid service to some degree, from time to time.

Do you feel like you do and if so, why?

4 Responses to “What Keeps You From Serving”

  1. RIch Hall Says:

    First off, thanks a thousand for what you do at the church. It takes a certain type of person to do what you do and I’m not that type. Schedule conflicts, lack of intrest, and one time I didn’t get picked so I’ve moved on. My wife and I signed up for the marrige mentoring program, went through the class and the program never got off the ground (yet?). There needs to be a passion for the cause. Mine is boating. When Nick had that outing at Coulon Park, I took the kids around tubeing. It was great! Maybe you could have a contest with the kids and have a boat ride in lake washington as a prize. I can also get a couple of pairs of tickets for seafair.

  2. Steve R Says:

    For me, it’s being over committed. There was a time in my life where I didn’t say no to anything, and I didn’t leave time for me or more focused time with my family. I would imagine the pendulum has swung too far the other way. I am now on the board of directors for a non-profit choral group, and occasionally sing with them as well, but it’s taken me a while to start considering service opportunities again.

  3. Rich and Steve,

    You both have some great insights and I can completely relate with both.

    I’m in the “business” of service(ing) and yet I still struggle with it.

    It’s such an odd thing because I feel so good when I’m done serving and yet, it takes a lot of effort and determination to get past all of my excuses and I definitely make them.

    For me, I continually have to remind myself of the incredible impact that I can have on a person’s life by dedicating some time to acts of service, whether they be organized or not.

    It’s a battle know doubt, but one that I am convinced we need to win.

  4. I also want to thank you guys for jumping into the dialogue and I encourage you to do so again in the future. It is my hope that this blog can be a place were we can have conversations around topics that involve families, the church, life, etc.

Leave a Reply

