Follow Aslan

This evening I went with my small group to an advance screening of the movie “Prince Caspian” in downtown Seattle and it was incredible. The movie was great. The company was great. The city is always great. Overall it was…go figure…great.

When we were done with the movie we wandered around Westlake Center and then went to the Cheesecake factory for some grub. It was definitely a memorable experiences, but I think the most important thing I took away with me actually came from a line in the movie.

In this particular scene Aslan and Lucy are talking and Lucy tells Aslan how she knew she had seen him but her siblings didn’t believe her. Aslan responded by saying something to the effect of “what difference does that make?”

This sort of profound statement isn’t a shock considering C.S. Lewis wrote the story, but it’s interesting how sometimes it takes a talking lion to bring home such incredible spiritual principles.

For me this dialogue between Lucy and Aslan really resonated. It hit a chord with me and I’m left wondering why I care so much what other’s think and why I can’t simply live out my faith the way I know I should.

Why can’t I follow Aslan even when my brothers and sisters don’t believe?

Granted, I try and make choices pleasing to God and I am in ministry. But, why can’t I live unashamedly for him day in and day out. 24/7. 365 days a year.

Why are there times that I’m uncomfortable talking with my neighbors about my job?

I think that part of it is that I am so wary of offending them or turning them off to God that I fail to present opportunities to turn them on to God.

Instead of trusting the Holy Spirit to move, I worry about whether or not I am saying the right words, or whether or not I am going to lose the relationship because they think I am some weird bible thumping freak.

Hmm, it’s funny how a movie can stir up such thoughts.

Do you ever feel like you fail to live boldly for God because there are people around you who believe differently?

4 Responses to “Follow Aslan”

  1. Pastor David, you are one of the most personable, approachable, sincere people I have ever met. By just being yourself you are going to win many people to Christ. Witness with a smile and look em straight in the eye. Let em know you are a fool for Christ (1 Corinthians 4:10).

    This scripture below inspired me, I hope it does the same for you.

    1 Corinthians 2
    1When I came to you, brothers, I did not come with eloquence or superior wisdom as I proclaimed to you the testimony about God.[a] 2For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. 3I came to you in weakness and fear, and with much trembling. 4My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, 5so that your faith might not rest on men’s wisdom, but on God’s power.

    😀

  2. I love it. Thanks Natalie, I appreciate your kind words of encouragement.

  3. Pastor David,
    You are so right. I think we all to some extent compartmentalize our lives. I know I struggle with what you’re thinking about at work. Why can’t I just be who I am and let others see Christ’s love through me? When I’m asked what I’m doing on the weekend, why can’t I just talk about what’s going on at church? I think it’s the classic struggle people have been going through for ages, and I, for one, have yet to make it through.

    BTW, Kaitlin and Jackson love Friday’s Rock! They’re exciting about next week!

  4. Metaphysically says : I absolutely agree with this !

Leave a Reply

