Annual Conference

Tomorrow I am heading down to Vancouver, WA for the Northwest Ministry Network’s annual conference. This is essentially a business meeting and a short conference as well as a great time to get together with those who are also in ministry in the northwest.

I am also excited about the session I am teaching. The session is entitled “Engaging Children In Worship,” and it is essentially walking people through our philosophy for worship in our children’s ministry. We have an incredible group of students who lead worship and really are on the “cutting edge” of this area of ministry.

I actually met with them tonight and in addition to our practice, we discussed the fact that worship is not just singing songs. It’s a way of life, a condition of the heart, a state of mind. Worship is giving everything you have to God, not just singing songs on Sunday. It’s so easy to fall into that mindset and for that reason we have to continually revisit and refocus on the truth of what worship really is.

It is my hope that we will be able to have some great dialogue on this topic and leave feeling empowered to challenge our students to see worship in a new light. To see it as more than just singing.

It’s kind of funny to think about the fact that two years ago I attended my first annual conference as a newly hired children’s pastor just out of a state university and now here I am leading a session.

God has some incredible ways of unfolding His plan and it is my prayer that I stay true to His calling so that I can touch the lives of kids and empower other leaders to do the same.

One Response to “Annual Conference”

  1. Hey David, I pray your conference session goes great! Thank you for investing in children and for teaching them the importance of lifestyle worship! May your tribe increase!

Leave a Reply

