The Misconception of "Me"

Can you imagine what the world would be like if we all stopped fooling ourselves and just came to the realization that not everything is about “me.” That while as much as I would like to think that my world revolves around me and yours around you, the truth of the matter is neither statement is factual.

This misconception is so common place in today’s society. We all think that our agendas matter most and that we need positions of status and bank accounts to match. I am no exception. I find myself falling into those same social traps due to the pedestal that society places popularity and riches on.

However it’s important to remember that everything good comes from God. All the money, the fame, big crib and fancy cars; it all comes from God. Yet, for some reason we all think those things come from our own ingenuity. That they belong to us. As a result we hold on tight to the things of this world and fail to understand that God wants to and will bless us in unimaginable ways if we put him first.

I was reading Proverbs 3 today and in verses 9 and 10 it talks specifically about this. It says, “Honor the Lord with your wealth, with the firstfruits of all your crops; then your barns will be filled to overflowing, and your vats will brim over with new wine.”

Wow, what a powerful statement. God comes right out and says if you don’t hold on so tight to your things and you recognize that those things come from me by giving a portion of them back, I will bless you beyond belief. I will give you more that you can handle.

If only we could get over the misconception of “me.” If only we could recognize that it’s not about me and my stuff but about Him and his blessings. What a world of difference that would make in the way we do business, the way we give to others, the way we manage our finances.

Leave a Reply

