The Moses Experiment: Part 2

My small group tonight started our curriculum that goes along with the series at New Life on the life of Moses and this question was posed, “What is one area of your life in which you need the prayers and support of your small group members as you seek to submit to God’s will rather than follow your own desires?” What a question! It’s not as if we’re talking favorite color here… this was a deep, raw, unfiltered question.

“Hello my name is David and I’m a…”

This was borderline twelve step. However… the people in my small group aren’t just a bunch of strangers, they are truly friends. People who I love doing life with. For that reason it was refreshing to open up about some of my deepest fears and insecurities. Ultimately I shared about how I feel God has called me to do something big with my life, but that I’m afraid I am going to get in the way with my insufficient definition of succes and not see His plan and provision for my life.

We all are willful and we all make decisions without God’s guidance. We take things into our own hands and instead of taking the time to seek God’s will we rely upon our judgement. Not Good.

Moses did this same thing when he killed the Egyptian. He took matters into his own hands rather than allowing for God to take things into His. 

My prayer is that I will be able to recognize the difference between my will and His, and have the humility to submit my faulty plan for the perfection that can only come from God himself.

Leave a Reply

